I'm Cool

Avatar: The last Air Bender Movie

Guys I’m not going to lie I’m extremely excited about this movie. I was trying to think of what other movie I had been extremely excited about and honestly none have come to mind. Maybe like Pirates of the Caribbean or Lord of the Rings, or Batman something along those lines. Anyways ya the point is I’m not the kind of person to care about new movies coming out. When I see a preview for a movie I usually can wait till its out on video and I usually don’t care about seeing it opening night. BUT this movie is different. I feel drawn to it. You know that warm fuzzy feeling like when your 13 and you had your first kiss, this is what this movie /series is like for me. ( I know its kind of strange) I love it I don’t want that warm fuzzy feeling to stop. I’m a sucker for romance but I’m an even bigger sucker for romance and adventure. I really can’t wait to see it. But like so many of you I’m going in to the movie with low expectations

Firstly M Knight Shamlanamanaa is directing it. Now, I’m not going to lie I kind of like some of his stuff, but the last few movies, which I have boycotted, I heard were real stinkers. The last movie I watched from him was the Village which in my opinion was ok. Didn’t love it didn’t like it, it was just ok.  Do I think he’s going to do justice to the Air Bender movie? Really yes to a degree, the previews look pretty good, but I personally believe its going to be like Prince of Persia. If you’ve seen that already it was good, not great, and Jake accent was a joke – but it was PG it’s meant for a good story a good laughing with a Disney flare to it. This is the same deal. It’s from Nickelodeon and the Anime is a kids anime. A well-known difference for children Asian Anime compared to its North American children’s Cartoon/Anime counter part varies extremely in the degree of sexual innuendos, fan service, swearing, amount of skin showing, death…and whatever else you can think of.  Hence the movie will be for the viewers (preteens to children under 15) of the show and because its American had to stay with its American standards. Which to be honest is totally fine with me. I’m 24 and I can’t wait for it to come out,  but like I said with my review if the maturity level is upped  just a little bit and the script oh it would have been a perfect anime, but no complaints here its still one of my favorites.

Now for the casting…. BIG EPIC FAIL…..Am I upset with the casting??….lol no not really. I’ve never watched slum dog millionaire so I have no idea how that guy is going to act out Zuko. Even if his face doesn’t actually match the role he may fit Zuko’s character like a glove. Then there’s Katara and Sokka….Like I said I won’t judge it till I see it, but for the fans sakes it may have been a good choice to go with right racial characters. To me, were all equal and I mean will it really take away from the story because someone isn’t black brown white green or purple. No it wont. If they can act and pull of the story smoothly. This could be a great adventure on screen.

So I’ve got my posse  of children to come with me opening night. LOL No really I have my 20+ aged geeky and not so geeky friends coming with me opening night and I’m still recruiting more. A few don’t think it’s going to be very good but to be honest I don’t care if it’s not everything the Anime was. I’m not going with high expectations and neither should you and when I do do this review for the movie when the time comes I’ll be sure to keep that in mind when I write it out. 3 and a bit more weeks ago…Can’t wait. haha. Oh man I need a to control my dorkism.

For my Rant about the movie click here

3 responses

  1. Pingback: 6 Geeky Devices Connecting the Internet to Your Things « Free Software Download

  2. new amazing avatar video

    July 13, 2010 at 8:26 am

    • I think that may have been better then the actual movie..

      July 13, 2010 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

