I'm Cool

Faith

TV Show: The Great Doctor / Faith
Revised romanization: Shinui
Hangul: 신의
Director: Kim Jong-Hak
Writer: Song Ji-Na
Network: SBS
Episodes: 24
Release Date: August 13, 2012 —
Runtime: Monday & Tuesday 20:55
Language: Korean
Country: South Korea
Wow… it’s literally been ages since I’ve watched anything worth writing about. Not even “North American” shows. Actually New Girl and Once Upon a Time are pretty good, but to be honest I wasnt feeling any new Asian dram show, or just anything really.  I actually was planning on shutting this site down. I’ve been watching a lot of my “white shows”. Anyways that all changed, between new Korean friends entering my life, Gangnam style, and this new drama called Faith.

Like I said before I didn’t care what new drama were coming out in Korea, Japan, China, (basically anything Asian oriented) but being a huge Lee Min Ho fan (he’s probably the only Korean actors name that I know off by heart) LoL, I favored him on my Facebook (it would be way cooler to friend on him FB and say we are friends lol) and I saw he had a new drama didn’t really pay attention to it for a few months now.

About 2 weeks ago I had a minor surgery. I Read 3 books, played video games, cleaned my place more than twice a day, I also watched pride and prejudice 1995 version like 8 times (mr.darcy yaaaa Colin Firth your aaaaaaa yaaa great tooo). Unfortunately I am still on a leave from work and am unable to do anything to strenuous. So I go on FB again and I see a recently updated picture for Lee Min Ho, in some sorta warrior costume. So I started looking to it and low and behold I end up watching the first episode.

THIS SHOW GETS ADDICTING FAST!!!

First if you know me I LOVE period/historical drama everything from Asian-Ming Dynasty, to North American-Colonial, to Roman-Italian, I’ll watch them all. Never seen a Korean one yet, and I gotta say it’s probably one of my favorites.

Starts off with Choi Young (Lee Min Ho) transporting the king, King Gongmin, of Goryeo (Modern day Korea) from Yaun (Modern Day China) back to Goryeo with his new Queen, Princess Nogoog, a born and bred Princess from Yaun (even tho she looks Korean :P). However they get attacked on the road and the Queen gets critically injured. Choi Young is instructed to go through a time warp which will bring back a Heavenly Doctor. He goes through it and finds him self in 2012 Korea, Gangnam (I dunno what Gangnam means I assume its a place in Korea). He finds a surgical convention with help from a monk, abducts a surgeon, a woman named Yoo Eun-Soo (Kim Hee-Seon) and brings her back to his time. He promises to send her back after saving the Queen. Unfortunately, right before she goes into the time warp the king requests for the “Heavenly Doctor” to stay. Choi Young prevents her from going through the door and it closes on her, trapping her in the past. She then stabs Choi Young in a moment of insanity, even though he could have easily avoided it, but as warrior he cannot accept a broken promise. Yoo Eun-Soo regrets this decision immediately and goes to treat him.

I love this drama. Yes the king is really, really annoying , but you can’t help but root for him and the Queen! Also you really cant wait for Choi Young and Yoo Eun-Soo to eventually start showing their true feelings for each other. All the original aspects of Korean drama is there,the cheese, the looking off in the distance for long periods of time, the over dramatical over used songs. Does that really matter? NO! it doesn’t because we all know what goes on during korean dramas, and if you watch them you come to accept them for what they are-part of the culture!

Theres two things I didn’t like about this drama first the main character Yoo Eun-Soo is to old (don’t get me wrong she’s a good actor pretty and looks way younger than her actual age) but I guess I shouldnt complain if the producers were to pick  anyone younger or hotter I wouldn’t like it either, cause well I get a little possessive over Lee Min Ho. haha JK JK

The second was someone in one of the comment sections on one of the video pages said Lee Min Ho sucks at acting. I’m sorry,but that guy could sell a potato sack and make it look epic. If all these episodes were just him on the screen standing there for an hour I’d be happy. Insite into my mind~(in Korean, on set) “Ready Min-ho?” “Yes””Roll em, lights, camera,action!”*Lee min stands around staring at the camera*”ok, now smile. ok, now wink, ok now change position, ok change clothes” *repeats for an hour* “Ok Min-Ho we done” and the next week its the same thing.

I would pay to see that! Ya I would total fan girl…I hate using terms like that but honestly my point is this guy is hot stuff his acting isn’t perfect, but being a Korean actor in a drama makes it its a completely different style its better then North American soap operas. And for my self I find its really hard to get the full grasp if you dont know the language. Even then his beauty will make up for any subpar acting. So that’s about it..

I give it a full 10/10 so far because it’s not finished yet.

Update Episode 17 is up at this link with some english subs

Leave a Reply

