I'm Cool

To The Beautiful You

  • Title: 아름다운 그대에게 / Areumdawun Geodaeege
  • Also known as: To the Beautiful You / Hana Kimi / For You in Full Blossom
  • Genre: Romance, comedy, youth
  • Episodes: 16

CUTE CUTE CUTE….Overly cute overload! Hana Kimi -manga version, Taiwanese Version, Japanese Version all really good entertainment. The Korean version is no different! Its been forever since I read the Manga (like literally years ago. I honestly don’t read much Manga anymore I stick to classic novels like Pride and Prejudice) but this Korean version really seems to follow the manga from what I can remember,  maybe just not periodically correct.

So story starts off with the main character Goo Jae Hee a girl getting transferred from the states to an all boys school in Korea. To help her idol Kang Tae Joon a high jump gold medalist get back to jumping after his injury. She enters as a boy and even gets roomed with Kang Tae Joon. Kang Tae Joon is not happy about his new room-mate but slowly accepts and also finds out that she is a girl. Meanwhile Cha Eun Kyul, a skilled football/soccer player (doooooo I love him) befriends Goo Jae Hee and starts feeling something for her, but he thinks she’s a boy and he tries to suppress his feelings. Goo Jae Hee has feelings for Kang Tae Joon, but thinks he doesn’t know that she is a girl… and the plot thickens.

It’s like all the other dramas but I can’t help but love this whole odd love triangle it’s so cute! Also Cha Eun Kyul is so cute!! You feel so sorry for him, fighting his feelings.
*Spoiler*

*Spoiler*
Why would Goo Jae Hee pick Kang Tae Joon. I would totally pick Cha Eun Kyul, not that Kang Tae Joon is cute and sweet in his own way, but Cha Eun Kyul, that character in all the mangas I’ve read, in all the dramas I’ve watched, has been my favorite character. His feelings are more pure, he went above and beyond and concurred so much for Goo Jae Hee. He was a pillar for her. Id pick him. Id pick him.*End Spoiler*

This was super cute I am glad I didn’t give up watching it. I give it a 7/10 it’s not the best score I know but it does lack in a few things. The kissing.. ok ok I know I aint Korean, nor live in Korea. So I dunno how guys and girls and general public feel about PDA (public displays of affection) Honestly though can’t they kiss just a tad bit more passionately. I mean if I had to kiss my boyfriend good-bye for a year (and I feel uncomfortable expressing PDA) I’d at least put my hand on his head, caress his hair a bit wiggle my mouth around a tad, just a tad with a tight embrace. I don’t think that’s asking too much. The only k-drama I’ve seen with more passionate kissing was Iris and I think from what I can remember Personal Taste… Please Korea I’m not asking a lot but stop doing the same kiss scenes for every drama! Girls open-eyed, guy just brushes his lips on her face…..I dont even constitute that as a kiss.. Maybe its just the italian in me..Anyways Ciao Bellas…

P.S. I also sorta felt like a pedophile watching this cause everyone was so cute but so young… Maybe its ok tho cause I still get mistaken for a highschool student at my old agg…hoohohohohoh hahaha

P.S.S Julien Kang- I discovered him in this – an extremely attractive halfer- who grew up in my home town Vancouver and who is older than me yay!… So I didn’t feel like such a Pedobear when he was on the screen…

P.S.S.S I just realised there’s a remake of the 2007 Hana Kimi Japanese version it was done in 2011 I’m def gonna watch that one next.

Leave a Reply

