I'm Cool

Hana Yori Dango Anime

This is the first version that has come out for television. It started in 1996 and has 51 episodes. I found this so far to be the worst version. I know its an older Anime and I shouldn’t be so judgemental but, it really sucks. I hate the the actual cartoon look of it (something that turned me off the manga).

The characters in this are:

Makino Tsukushi

Hanazawa Rui

Doumyouji Tsukasa

Doumyouji Tsukasa

Mimasaka Akira

Mimasaka Akira

Nishikado Soujirou

Nishikado Soujirou


Beware Spoilers…


They have a lot of pointless episodes. Something that always bothers me about Anime they spend so long establishing the story in the beginning that it wastes 10-20 episodes on something that we already know. And then the last few episodes they try to resolve everything that’s happened through the series in 1 or 2 episodes. And some of the episodes in between were absolutely pointless. Like Ranma. I love Ranma 1/2 but when I re-watched the series I only watch the episodes that lead up to something or have a purpose. I know we aren’t talking about Ranma 1/2 but the same goes for this Anime Hana Yori Dango.

This drama starts off the same way as the rest does. Click Here to read the story) In this version she is already a member of the school Eitoku Gakuen. Her parents have made financial scarifies to send her to this elite school. There she meets an old friend who has just came into new money and another friend who later betrays her. I find this version is a little bit more mature then some of the dramas. When Doumyouji and Makino are together, the F4 group of guys keep asking Doumyouji when hes finally going to sleep with Makino. I found this version a little funnier then the ones that I have watched. In the beginning I liked Makino the way she was, then half way through the series she just gets hella annoying. Spoiler *** what the heck how could she not know if Doumyouji likes her or not hes said it a million times showed it and everything. And that ending how weak was that. She jumps on the ship, and the mother is just like oh well C’est le Vive, like seriously what the hell. End Spoiler ***I’ve tried to forget about this Anime so I can’t quite remember if he lost his memory in this version. They have 51 episodes that could of been all played into 25 maybe 30 episodes

Having said that I wasn’t completely dissatisfied with the Anime. I did get some enjoyment out of it and a few times I even felt that “AWWWW” feeling, you know inside when something really cool happens or sweet or you know…sorta . Like the scene like when Tsukasa first tells Tsukushi that he likes/loves her after saving her from the car incident. I also like this version because well its hard to describe it but, Doumyouji even though he still loves Makino a lot there were a few times he wanted to give her up specially when he thought she was with Hanazawa. Which to me made it more realistic. Hmm.. I dunno I’ve forgotten a lot of the other things that have happened but thats Ok since this wasn’t my favorite.

However I do think its worth at least one watch. I would never re-watch it.

Oh the last thing I really hated about this series is the English Dubbed voice. They made Domyoji sound like a totally tool. Hanazawa.. I dunno what was going on with his voice actor but it was pretty bad. What the hell. Ya ok….Also they didn’t really go into detail about Hanazawa Rui relationship with Makino. I’m thinking I will have to read the Manga to fully understand the true story but as far as I am aware Rui really likes/loves Makino secretly. This version it just seemed like he was being a friend. Also the other two guys Mimasaka Akira and Nishikado Soujirou had no story at all, as far as I can remember, and if they did it deffinetly didn’t stand out in my mind.

Anyways I am done ranting now.

Leave a comment